STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

In Re Order Establishing Fee For Filing
A Motion or Response to a Motion For Modification
of Child Support

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

APR - 2 1993

FILED

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statutes, 1992, Section 357.021, subdivision 2(13) provides that the Supreme Court shall establish a fee for filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

Effective April 1, 1993, a uniform fee of \$20 shall be charged for the filing of a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support.

Date: <u>March</u> 31, 1993

BY THE COURT

A.M. Keith Chief Justice

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN COURT OF APPEALS

In Re: Interpretation of Minn. Stat. § 480A.08, subd. 3 (1986), Concerning Limitation of Time in Which to Issue Decisions of the Court.

ORDER

WHEREAS, this court is required by statute to render decisions "within 90 days after oral argument or after the final submission of briefs or memoranda by the parties, whichever is later," Minn. Stat. § 480A.08, subd. 3 (1986); and

WHEREAS, the 90-day limitation may be waived, for good cause shown, by the chief judge, id.; and

WHEREAS, although "the normal number of judges" for the court, as that term is defined by statute, is 21, the court is currently comprised of only 13 judges, one additional judge having been authorized by the 1987 Legislature, although the court requested additional judges; and

WHEREAS, the ability to meet the 90-day standard by a court of reduced size is doubtful. As experience has shown, the court's efforts to do so have been limited by health problems of various judges caused by overwork and excessive stress; and

WHEREAS, the problem is especially acute in deciding cases where no oral argument is held, and a decision is due

within 90 days after the filing of the last brief, <u>see Minn.</u>
Stat. § 480A.08, subd. 3; Minn. R. Civ. App. P. 134.06, subd.

2, and if no respondent's brief is filed, at least 30 days pass before the court becomes aware that briefing is complete and the case is ready for assignment; and

WHEREAS, allowing time for the assignment and preparation process, a nonoral case may not be ready for conference by the assigned panel until an additional 20 to 30 days have passed, for a total elapsed time since the last brief of up to 65 days; and

WHEREAS, following the nonoral conference, a draft opinion with concurring and dissenting opinions must be prepared and circulated to the entire court pursuant to our internal rules, which may require an additional 30 days; and

WHEREAS, these time constraints would be lessened if the 90-day limitation for issuance of a decision was calculated from the date of the nonoral panel conference, paralleling the statutory submission date of argument and conference for oral cases;

THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

1. For good cause shown, the 90-day period for this court to issue an opinion pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 480A.08, subd. 3 on cases submitted without oral argument shall hereafter be computed from the date on which a panel conference is held.

2. The State Court Administrator shall make the necessary computer program changes to effect this policy change on July 1, 1987.

Dated: June 30, 1987

BY THE COURT

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

JUL 1 1987

FILED

PSP:CLL:ds

IN RE PROCEDURE RELATING TO MINN. STAT. § 144.343, SUBD. 6 (1981)

AMENDED ORDER

Effective July 1, 1984

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Legislature recently amended Minn. Stat. § 144.343 (1980) to prescribe procedures for the notification of parents, guardians, and conservators prior to performing abortions on certain persons, 1981 Minn. Laws ch. 228, § 1; and

WHEREAS, Minn. Stat. § 144.343, subd. 6(c) (1981) details the procedure to be employed in the event a pregnant woman elects not to allow the notification of a parent, guardian or conservator contemplated by Minn. Stat. § 144.343, subd. 2 (1981);

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the following procedure, effective this date, be employed to facilitate prompt judicial consideration of a petition pursuant to section 144.343, subd. 6(c):

- (1) The petition shall initially be filed in and considered by the county court or, in the case of Hennepin and Ramsey Counties, in the district court, juvenile division or, in the case of a unified judicial district, in the district court. Section 144.343, subd. 6(c) (i) (ii) (iii).
- (2) An order denying the petition shall be appealable on the record to one judge of the district court, including the district court of Hennepin and Ramsey Counties or, in a unified judicial district, an order denying the petition shall be appealable on the record to two district court judges and if there be a division between said judges the order denying the petition shall stand.

Dated: June 14, 1984

BY THE COURT:

DOUGLAS K. AMDAHL Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS FILED

JUN 1 4 1984

WAYNE TSCHIMPERLE CLERK